The TET Athletics Taranaki Sportsperon of the Year awards are held in May each year. 

Clubs are invited to make nominations for the season. The awards recognise outstanding performance and service in the sport by people in the Taranaki region. The nomination categories are Boys and Girls (7 to 11 Years), Boys and Girls (12 to 14 years), Junior Male and Female (15 to 19 years), Senior Male and Female, Masters Male and Female,  Senior Male, Senior Female, Junior Male, Junior Female, Coach, Volunteer and Contribution to Athletics.

Taranaki Trophy ​​​​​​​W​​​​​​​inners

Toby O'Rorke (2024)

Sinead O'Sullivan (2023)

Ashleigh Bennett (2022)

Lara Hockley (2021)

Jacob Stockwell (2020)

Hannah O'Connor (2019)

Hannah O'Connor (2018)

Hannah O'Connor (2017)

Olivia Eaton (2016)

Arnold Fage (2015)

Zoe Hobbs (2014)

Zoe Hobbs (2013)

Kyle van der Merwe (2012)

These awards arise from a donation made by life member Stan Lay in 1968.

Originally they were awarded to the most promising athletes, one male, one female, but since 1974 the Stan Lay awards are awarded to the most outstanding Taranaki registered track and field athlete (male and female) under the age of 20 years on 30 April of the season of consideration.​​​​​​​